Happy New Year!!

As we welcome in 2013 I am excited about so many things.

2013 gives me 52 more weeks to challenge myself in my blogging and write about things that matter to caregivers; writing posts that inform, educate and support all those who are doing the best that they can in caring for aging parents and loved ones.

As part of that effort, I am going to reach out to other experts in the industry to share their knowledge and experience with us.

And January presents me with the perfect opportunity to launch that effort.

I am headed off for the trip of a lifetime in the month of January.  While I am sailing amidst the fjords of Chile, through the Drake Passage (hoping for calm waters), and viewing the wildlife of Antarctica, I will be sharing posts from several of those experts.

One post will be from a dear friend of mine who has a way with words in telling about her experiences with her father who has dementia.  Those of you caring for a loved one with dementia may smile as I do when I read her tales.  I thank her for allowing me to share her story with you…..

Another post is from an expert in skilled home-care.  She writes about the importance of accepting help from others as you care for an aging or ill loved one.  The personal story that she incorporates into her post lets others know that they are not alone in dealing with their caregiving issues.

And then I hope you all get something out of the post from another industry expert who shares her experiences from non-skilled home-care.  She shares with you ways to identify the need for help and how to go about securing that help.  She is somebody who cares deeply about the safety and well-being of seniors!

Most of those who land on this site are facing the many challenges of caregiving.  To be sure, it can be a stressful, exhausting, sad, and difficult time.  I hope with the information that you find here, you feel less alone and more supported in your caregiving efforts.

My own parents have hit a bit of a lull after several very challenging years.  I am hoping to get through my trip without any major snags on that front.  I am grateful for the chance I had to see both of them over the holidays; I fear there may not be many left for my father.

As I sail the seas in January, I will be rejuvenating to return to my call to help caregivers with their journey in any way that I am able…..  I am looking forward to 2013!

As always, I am….

On the journey with you…….Kathy

Kathy Eynon is an Eldercare Coach and Consultant that works with those struggling to cope with the demands of caring for an aging parent.  She can be reached by email at: Kathy@ParentCareAlliance.com.

One response to “Happy New Year!!

  1. Kathy, hope you have a great, refreshing and inspirational trip and a wonderful 2013.

Leave a Reply

