Lessons We Learn…. About Thanksgiving

Today we take a moment to put life on pause and reflect on the many things that we have to be thankful for in life.

Before we rush out to launch ourselves into Black Friday (now being brought to us for our shopping convenience on Thursday evening) and immerse ourselves in the Christmas shopping frenzy, I hope we all stop on this Thanksgiving Day and think about the many blessing in our lives.

For me, one of those things is family.

“I’ve learned that it’s not what you have in your life but who you have in your life that counts.”

I’m grateful this year for the relatively smooth transition of my parents into the care situations that they require.

I’m grateful for a daughter and son-in-law who are about to provide us with our first grandchild.

I’m grateful for a son who continues to make us laugh most days.

I’m grateful for a husband who loves and supports me in all that I do.

Maybe you don’t have family that is close to you but perhaps the connections that you are thankful for come to you through your friendships.

I’m thankful for friends old and new; friends that I have made through blogging and friends that I have through my work; friends that I have known since my children were young and friends that I have made through my travels in recent years.

If I had to choose to give up either things or the people in my life, it would be an easy choice for me.  The things would matter very little without the people.

So, enjoy Thanksgiving!  Eat some turkey (or tofu, or roast beef), stuffing and pie and be thankful for the abundance on most tables.  But as you eat, look around at those who are sharing that table with you and be thankful for them as well (even if it is old, cranky Uncle Jack).

I would love to know what you are most thankful for……..

On the journey with you…….Kathy

(Quote:  Age 30- The Complete Live and Learn and Pass It On, by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.)

Kathy Eynon is an Eldercare Coach and Consultant that works with those struggling to cope with the demands of caring for an aging parent.  She can be reached by email at: Kathy@ParentCareAlliance.com.

www.ParentCareAlliance.com

Leave a Reply

