Lessons We Learn…. About the Journey

I’ve been told that life is about the journey and not the destination.  And I hold to that notion.  If we make it about the journey we live more fully and maybe take notice of opportunities that cross our paths; we live life, instead of letting it happen to us.  I’m not saying don’t plan for the future, but don’t miss out on the now waiting for ‘someday’ to come before you begin to enjoy life.

Ray Charles says, “You should live every day like it is your last because one day you’re going to be right.”  When that day comes, I sure hope to look back on a bucket load of great adventures and accomplishments.

Part of how we make our journey can be influenced by who we ask to join us on the journey.

I’ve learned that a happy journey almost always depends on choosing the right traveling companion.”

I believe we can relate this to several areas of life.

Now, the most obvious is when you actually travel with somebody!  When you set off for new adventures and places, you really do want to go with somebody that is easy to be with and is compatible with your style of travel.  Some travelers like to plan every moment, rush from site to site, and squeeze in as much as they possibly can before the vacation is over.  I tend to prefer planning a little-bit (general ideas about what to see and do), seeing what comes along while I’m there, and doing lots of relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere around me.  This can lead to cappuccinos at a street side café and wandering the streets of an old city with a map in hand.

I have done both: traveled with people who, though I love them a great deal, drive me crazy after about 2 days; and traveled with others, for several weeks, and come to the end of the journey while still enjoying each other’s company.  So those journeys are affected by the travel companions to some extent.

In my business I have also found that the people I choose to ‘journey’ with can influence how that journey goes.

I have traveled parts of that journey with some who suck the life out of me, make me feel like every encounter is a struggle and every ‘next step’ a big ordeal.

And, I have worked with people who have challenged, excited and inspired me to do more and be more just through my interactions with them.  People who really and truly want to help me succeed; who view my success as their success.  These are the people I want to travel this journey with.

And where does that travel companion make the biggest impact?  I think maybe in who I have chosen to go through life with:  marriage (or life partner, or significant other).

Many people end up going through life with somebody that does not have their best interest at heart; someone who finds it difficult to compromise; maybe a partner whose love is conditional.

I have chosen well here!  My husband and I have been married for 28 years and still enjoy being with each other.  We still find ways to laugh together.  We travel, with those who drive us crazy and those we can be with for weeks.

My husband supports me when I have to make tough decisions and has been a steadying calm in times of turmoil.  He sees things in me that I can’t always see myself; mostly good things, which he shares with me, but I’m sure there are some so-so characteristics as well, which he thankfully doesn’t feel the need to expound on!

In all, he has helped to make it a happy journey!

How are your journey’s going?  Are you traveling with the right travel companions?  Are you spending time with the people who make the journey fun and exciting?  Do the people you travel with inspire, nourish and sustain you?

In a Lee Ann Womack song we are challenged, ‘And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance…… I hope you dance!’

I too, hope you dance.  And, that you choose a great dancing partner!

On the journey with you…….Kathy

(Quote:  Age 65- The Complete Live and Learn and Pass It On, by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.)

Kathy Eynon is an Eldercare Coach and Consultant that works with those struggling to cope with the demands of caring for an aging parent.  She can be reached by email at: Kathy@ParentCareAlliance.com.

2 responses to “Lessons We Learn…. About the Journey

  1. Indeed, the right travel companion makes all the difference!

Leave a Reply

