Lessons We Learn…. About Finding Beauty

I just came in from a beautiful fall walk.  The colors on the trees are fabulous just now and with the sunshine and slight breeze, the leaves look like they are dancing on the limbs.  I enjoyed the rustle of the dry leaves as I kicked them along and the crunch of the acorns underfoot; at least the ones that the very busy mob-of-squirrels have not buried in a hole that I feel sure they will never find again.  The air was just ever so slightly brisk and taking deep breaths helped me to have a moment of calm.

For some reason, I have always had the capacity to be captivated by the most simple pleasures and I am glad for that.  I will notice the way moss grows in the crevice of a rock and enjoy observing the details of the tiny ‘leaves’, touch it and feel how soft it is and wonder at the dainty ‘flowers’ (which it turns out are not flowers at all but tiny ‘spore capsules’ which does not sound as lovely as ‘flowers’).

I find beauty in a campfire; the dance of the flames and the sounds of the hissing, popping and crackling; so relaxing for me.  There is beauty in the soft curve of a baby’s fresh-skinned check as well as the weathered face of a grizzled old man.

“I’ve learned that brushing my child’s hair is one of life’s great pleasures.”  For this mom, this ‘task’ may become a celebration of the senses:  the smell of freshly washed hair (Johnson’s Baby Shampoo), the feel of hair falling through the fingers, the shiny strands glistening in the light.

I find that allowing myself the opportunity to notice and enjoy small and seemingly insignificant things, leaves me with a feeling of peace and calm.  It puts life on pause and grounds me right in that moment.

I think we all allow life to get in the way a great deal.  We become so consumed by the must-dos of the day that we don’t stop to simply take notice.  When I surround myself with great beauty, beauty that takes my breath away just a little bit, I experience true awe and contentment.

This saying has been attributed to several individuals (including anonymous), but wherever its origin, I have always loved it:  Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take but by the number of moments that take your breath away.  That really says to me that life is about the journey, noticing all that we can along the way and deeply enjoying the people, places, situations, and all that we encounter.

Thanks for stopping by to take this moment with me.  As I sit here watching the fall light come in through the window, smelling the wonderful, warm aromas of the roast in the oven and listening to the cat snore through her afternoon nap, I will be wondering what it is that you find beauty in and how noticing it makes you feel.

And in this very moment, I’m content….

On the journey with you…….Kathy

(Quote:  Age 29- The Complete Live and Learn and Pass It On, by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.)

Leave a Reply

