Lessons We Learn….(About the Value of Others….)

“I’ve learned that the janitor is the most important person in the building.”  Life can be hard if you don’t learn this lesson.  Appreciating the value of others lifts up the human experience for all of us.

I have always believed that everyone has a place and a purpose in this life.  I many not know what it is or always understand it, but I still believe that it is there.  Nobody is more than or less than I am; in many ways we are all the same, just on different journeys.

Believing in the value of others has always been a positive in my life.  I try not to give others any impression that I am better than they are and I always try to treat others with the expectation that there is something that I can learn from them.  People of all backgrounds and stations in life respond to that.

As an RN, I never quite understood the RNs that believed that a LPN was less than they were.  I certainly learned an awful lot about nursing from some wonderful, knowledgeable, experienced LPNs when I got out of nursing school.  They were not more or less than I, just different; with a different set of experiences and different realms of knowledge.  And in my mind, that makes them valuable.

When I was working as a case manager doing workers compensation claims I treated everybody as equal.  I worked with business executives, truck drivers, nursing assistants, factory workers, attorneys, physicians and others.  I got along with everyone and was able to bridge some gaps that other case managers struggled to bridge.  Few of my clients got legal representation once I was able to establish a relationship with them.  They knew that I did not look down on them in any way and that I was ultimately on their side.  Physician’s respected my thoughts and ideas because I respected their expertise and time.

My daughter who teaches middle school is much the same.  She treats everybody as valuable also and has made the observation about how readily the custodian and office staff respond to the needs in her classroom; I’m sure because to her, they are valuable people and she lets them know that.

We should be grateful for the truck drivers in our lives.  Without them the goods we buy would not be in the stores when we went there to get them.  The nursing assistant might just be the person that takes care of me someday when I am unable.  The factory worker makes things that I need and want.  Physicians treat me when I am ill.  And, you never know when you are going to need an attorney!

The gifts that I have to give to you ought to be different from the gifts that you have to give to me.  If we all had the same gift we would never want or need what somebody else has to offer to us and our lives would be pretty limited.  We need to be ready and willing to share our gifts but also able to appreciate the gifts that others have to share with us.

Though we may sometimes see somebody who is very different from us, shake our heads and think, ‘It takes all kinds….’, the truth is, it really does!  Each of us is a rich and valuable gift (even when we may not be feeling that way).

Use and share your gifts and value the gifts that others have to share with you…..

On the journey with you…….Kathy

(Quote:  Age 54- The Complete Live and Learn and Pass It On, by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.)

Leave a Reply

